I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 114

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo A. B. Palacios. Sr. James V. Espaldon Frank F. Blas. Jr. Mark Forbes **Judith Paulette Guthertz** Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio David L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating the Academy of Our Lady of Guam Class of 1972 as it celebrates its "Thirty-fifth (35th) High School Class Reunion".

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Academy of Our Lady of Guam is a four (4) year
Archdiocesan College Preparatory School founded in 1949 and has been
accredited since 1970 by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges; and
WHEREAS, the hallmark of the Academy of Our Lady of Guam is
excellence and it is a member of the National Catholic Education Association;

- 1 the Academy of our Lady of Guam is proud of the more than six thousand
- 2 (6,000) Chamorro, Filipino, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Micronesian,
- 3 Caucasian and Hispanic alumnae it has empowered spiritually, intellectually,
- 4 socially and physically for the challenges of adult life; and
- 5 WHEREAS, over ninety-five percent (95%) of the Academy's graduates
- 6 pursue higher education frequently at top colleges and universities. Alumnae
- 7 serve as doctors, judges, lawyers, corporate executives, educators, church
- 8 leaders, foreign relation officers, public officials, and in other leadership roles;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Academy of Our Lady of Guam is committed to
- 11 mentoring young women and empowering them to contribute to the church,
- 12 society and the world-at-large; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Guam Sisters of Mercy of the Americas administers the
- 14 Academy of Our Lady of Guam and complements the faculty of dedicated
- 15 persons who provide the excellent education that is Academy's hallmark and
- 16 its legacy for the future; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Academy of Our Lady of Guam Class of 1972 includes
- 18 the following: Frances Ada Ysrael, Sister Soledad Aguilo, Jackie Arriola
- 19 Marati, Sister Marian Arroyo, Catherine Artatis Cardenas, Jojo Asperilla
- 20 Randle, Yolanda Avilla Calvo, Valerie A. Belanger Farrell, Bea Benito
- 21 Concepcion, Penelope Bordallo Hofschneider, Jeanette Crisostomo Cruz,
- 22 Asuncion Cruz Cruz, Catherine Cruz Rudolph, Leo Cunanan Jordanou, Rose

- 1 Duenas, Betty Ebbat Belleza, Vivian Espaldon Wolff, Selina Flores, Elizabeth
- 2 Franquez Napoli, Mildred Gabriel, Yolanda Garcia Elliott, Bobby Guerrero
- 3 Toves, Lucille Leilani Keanini, Ramona Luzano Nakamura, Josephine Mallo-
- 4 Garrido, Carmen "Dolly" O'Mallan, Joan Payne Swaddell, Carmen Posadas
- 5 Thomas, Regina Quan Pereira, Vicky Quenga, Zenaida Sabangan, Mary Lou
- 6 Sablan Woo, Bernadette San Nicolas Camacho, Angeline Santos Roberto,
- 7 Joanna Santos, Mary Elaine Santos Diaz, Pamela Sgambelluri Quinata,
- 8 Carmen Shinohara Toal, Louisa Sotto Mesa, Zita Taisacan Leon Guerrero,
- 9 Mari Torres Bais, Stephanye Williams, Kathy Baker, Brenda Caburian, Barbara
- 10 Ford, Severiana Kumangai, Corazon Laurel, Helen Preuc, Grace Redaja and
- 11 Rose Marie San Nicolas; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Academy of Our Lady of Guam Class of 1972
- 13 remembers the following fellow classmates who have passed on: †Mercedes
- 14 Jose, †Frances Cruz Atalig and †Gloria Gabriel; now, therefore, be it
- 15 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na
- 16 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 17 people of Guam, congratulate the Academy of Our Lady of Guam Class of
- 18 1972 on its "Thirty-fifth (35th) High School Class Reunion"; and be it further
- 19 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 20 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 21 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Sister Francis

- 1 Jerome Cruz, R.S.M.; to Ms. Mary Meeks, Principal; and to the Honorable
- 2 Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 3RD DAY OF AUGUST 2007.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature